top of page

Expansion Team Mysteries

The NHL's expansion teams have always been a wonder among sports fans. Some came into existence out of the love and passion for the game and others came from various cities using them as an outlet to make money. Teams such as the Arizona Coyotes were relocated from the original Winnipeg Jets, and the present day Colorado Avalanche evolved from the Quebec Nordiques. But what does this have to do with how I got my expansion jerseys? Well, lets find out.


1991-92 San Jose Sharks Jersey

The First expansion jersey that I ever got was one that is even older than me. The San Jose Sharks jersey. This one was originally my dad's... now don't jump to conclusions, it wasn't stolen. My dad purchased this jersey when it was their inaugural season in 1991-92. One day him and I were cleaning out my Grandmother's house to help her out and my dad came across two jerseys, they were shared with my brother and I. Regardless of the fact that it was too small for me to wear, I always keep the jersey as a reminder of my dad.







The next one is one of my personal favourites and has been in my collection for 5 years now.

Quebec Nordiques Jersey

The Quebec Nordiques were one of my favourite NHL teams to watch even if I was not born in the era where they played. Watching the highlight tapes of Mats Sundin and Guy Lafleur was the coolest thing I had ever seen. I had started to fall in love with the amazing look of the jersey, everything from the logo (Which unlike others, I actually find it cool) and the details including the Fleur de Lis on the shoulders and bottom of it. Ever since I first watched their highlights, I had been searching for that jersey. When I went out to visit my dad at Christmas one year, one of the gifts I was given is this Quebec Nordiques Jersey with my favourite player's name and number on it, Mats Sundin.




Seattle Kraken 32nd Team Jersey

Finally, the best looking jersey in the National Hockey League, the newest expansion team, the Seattle Kraken. Despite the fact that they may have an unusually funny name, they have one of the best jerseys that I have ever laid eyes on. The night that they were announced, I was sitting at my desk talking to some friends and ironically discussing what the Seattle team's name and jersey could look like. I jokingly said that no matter what it was, I would buy one. Well... long story short, I became a super fan of the team before they even drafted a team. I saw this one and just couldn't pass up the opportunity.





What was one thing in your collection that you could not pass up?

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Stories are the best way to communicate a message, memory or pass on knowledge. I am all about telling the story, no matter how unique.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page