top of page

Hockey Cards: My favourite hobby

From the time I've learned to walk, I've always like to collect things. Whether it was leaves, Lego pieces or even my favorite set of Upperdeck Hockey cards I was always into collecting.


Some people like to collect cards for the money it brings in, but I see it differently. My very first hockey card was passed down to me from my dad. It was a 1990-91 Wayne Gretzky card from the Pro-set series. Despite the fact that it was a base card and not worth all that much, it sparked my love for collecting.


While opening more than I cared to spend when it comes to cards, over the years I was able to pull some of the top rookies from their respective draft classes.

One example is this card. An autograph of the 2020 Rookie Of The Year and Calder Trophy Winner, Cale Makar. I got this card while I was on the phone with some friends one night and funny enough, one friend mentioned that he had a good feeling about the pack I was about to open. Sure enough I did not regret it.

But what was so special about this one compared to all of the others? aside from the fact that it was a great player? there are only TEN in existence.












Yes, that is right. 1/10 that exist in the world! Now there are other variants of this card but the one I pulled was a super rare variant. When it comes to hockey cards, the thrill of opening packs (and sometimes disappointment) fuels my love for wanting to collect more.

Hi, thanks for stopping by!

Stories are the best way to communicate a message, memory or pass on knowledge. I am all about telling the story, no matter how unique.

Let the posts
come to you.

Thanks for submitting!

  • Facebook
  • Instagram
  • Twitter
  • Pinterest
bottom of page